none
Auditing File Access on File Servers with GPO - Not logging any event

Question

• Hi Guys,

Im kind of new in this so I will please ask you some help regarding the Audit Configuration I found in this link:

http://blogs.technet.com/b/mspfe/archive/2013/08/27/auditing-file-access-on-file-servers.aspx#comments

So I have done that Audit Configuration but I cant see any 4663 or any other event related with the Audit configuration on the Event Viewer.

To give you  abetter overview this is my setup and what I've done:

- I have a lab Domain with one DC, one File Server (that holds the shared folders and files I want audit) both of them are W2008R2 and one Windows7 client computer.

- I created one GPO with the name 'File Server Audit Policy' with all the configurations mentioned here that is applied to the OU that contains my FileServer - The 'gpresult' command tells me that the only GPOs applied to the FileServer are the 'Default Domain Policy' and the 'File Server Audit Policy'

- In my FS I have one Folder that I have shared with the name 'Shares' and under it I have 3 folders, Marketing, Finance and IT.

- As I want audit everything that happens on those 3 folders I create the SACL on 'Shares' for the 'Everyone' group.

- From the Windows7 client computer, with a regular user account Im able to access the 'Shares' folder (\\FileServer\Shares) and then to the other folders and their files, I do many changes (creations, deletions, modification, etc) but I don get any AuditLog in the Event Viewer, not even one.

- On the DC and in the FS I get the Logon/Logoff events when I access to the shared files from the client computer but just that no 4663 event.

Could you guys please bring somelight to this problem that Is driving crazy after almost a week of testing.

Your help will be greatly appreciated.

Regards.
    Daniel.

Monday, December 14, 2015 9:59 PM

Answers

• Hi Wendy,

So the problem is half solved now, here is what has been done after a lot of research: