Beginner question: Purpose of the normalisation rule. RRS feed

• Question

• Hi folks,

I'm new to the PSTN side of Lync and I'm running into what may or may not be an issue that has me curious as to the ultimate purpose of normalisation rules.

To begin with, I thought the purpose was to take a number in any given format and produce out the other side a number format useful to your PBX configuration. To use an example, our Avaya CS1000 only routes our four digit extensions internally while the full local or international equivalents actually dial out then back in (doesn't make sense to me, but that's how the consultant put things in place; I would have thought all variants should have been captured internally).

Because of this, I created the normalisation rules to take the number in either international, local or extension format and normalise those into extension format. If you're wondering why bother with the last case, it's because depending on the first digit the extension is being routed to a different CS1000.

That all seemed fine insofar as if I test a number within either the normalisation rule or associated dialling plan, all the formats are "correctly" normalised to the four digit extension. However, when I then use the "Test Voice Routing" component of the Lync control panel, I find that internationally formatted numbers (including the leading +) do not match the relevant normalisation rule, and by that I mean it gives me the impression it's not even trying.

That leads me to think perhaps I've totally misunderstood the purpose of the normalisation rule. Whereas I assumed it was a means to formatting numbers in a manner useful to us, I'm now wondering if its sole purpose is to produce E.164 numbers?