How to access the values in a variable created by Get-Childitem RRS feed

• Question

• I am brand new to PowerShell scripting and am willing to read the book if I can find the right chapter. I'm trying to write a script to list the count and space used of files with various retention periods. If an index contains a data retention tag file then all the files in that directory and sub-directories share the retention defined by the tag file name.

The following command selects the directories with one year retention and places the directory names in a variable:

PS C:\PowerShellScripts> $tag1yr = get-childitem 'c:\Test retention' -recurse |
      where {$_.PSIsContainer -like "*False*"} |
      where {$_.name -like "*1 YEAR*"} |
      ft -property directory

The following command displays the value of the variable:
    PS C:\PowerShellScripts> $tag1y

Directory 
    ---------                                                                                  
    C:\Test retention\Lower Level\Lower tst 1 yr tag dir
    C:\Test retention\Tst 1 yr by tag file dir

This ends up with two directory names (listed above) in the $tag1yr variable. Can anyone tell me how my script can use those values to compare with the directory names of files selected by the following command to determine which ones have one year retention?

PS C:\PowerShellScripts> get-childitem 'c:\Test retention' -recurse |
      where {$_.PSIsContainer -like "*False*"}

These didn't work:

PS C:\PowerShellScripts> $tag1yr[1].Directory  # this produced no results

PS C:\PowerShellScripts> $tag1yr | foreach-object -process {write-host "This is one object:", $_.Directory}
    This is one object:
    This is one object:
    This is one object:
    This is one object:
    This is one object:
    This is one object:

The following says there are more than two objects in the array:

PS C:\PowerShellScripts> $tag1yr.count