none
Microsoft Edge Can't Open Local Domains RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Everyone,
    I've finally got my Windows 10 Pro installation up and running fairly smoothly. I have run into one problem, however, that I hope you can help me with. I am a web developer so I've setup a virtual instance of CentOS 7 (using VirtualBox) as my local testing server for my projects. It isn't anything too glamorous, but I have things setup so that 192.168.56.101 goes to the VM's web server. I've also setup a record in the Windows 10 host file to forward the domain "local" to this IP address. I'm able to SSH to this domain or IP with Putty. I'm able to access the VM's web server using the domain or IP with FireFox, Chrome, and Internet Explorer. However, if I try to access either the domain or IP address with the Edge browser, I'm told "Hmm, we can't reach the page." It's obviously something to do with Edge, but I'm not entirely sure what that might be. Anyone know what's going on?

Thursday, August 6, 2015 8:39 PM

Answers

• None of the above suggestions worked for me, but the comment about trusted sites by The Real Evan de la Cruz lead me to a solution:  unchecking the auto-detection for intranet sites from the (IE) internet options.

To do this, I went to Control Panel > Internet Options > Security > Local Intranet  > Sites

and unchecked "include all local (intranet) sites not listed in other zones" and "Include all sites that bypass the proxy server".

I then saved my settings and restarted Edge.Internet Options Local Intranet site detection with first two settings unchecked

• Proposed as answer by awe Friday, November 6, 2015 9:42 AM
    • Marked as answer by Michael_LSModerator Wednesday, December 30, 2015 5:50 AM
    Wednesday, October 21, 2015 5:54 PM

All replies

• Hi IntegrityDC,

Thank you for your question.