none
IE11 User can't send webpages RRS feed

• Question

• I work in IT and I have a user with a problem where they cannot send webpages. Be send I mean they go into IE > File > send > page by e-mail. When they do this for the first time after they open IE and they go to the webpage they need to send, they can send that one just fine. It will open up outlook give a description of the page in the subject line and in the main part it will show the page just fine. Now if they go to the next page they need to send they will do file > send..... and then outlook will pop up, the description will show correctly, but the page that shows up in the main part is the one they first sent. It does not match the second page they are trying to send. 

Explained in a different way, they have page 1 and page 2 they need to send, the 2 pages are different parts of the same website. The user will send page 1 and it describes page 1 in the subject line and shows page 1 in the main part. When they go to send page 2 it describes page 2 in the subject line but in the main part it shows page 1. 

I have found that this problem is only happening with 1 website, if they go to google for instance and send that page it shows google in the description and shows the google page in the main part. Also if the users sends page 1 and then closes IE, re-opens it and goes to page 2, it will be described as page 2 in the subject line and show page 2 in the main part.

Sorry for the long post but I wanted to give you guys as much info as possible to save time. Any assistance would be great thanks.

Wednesday, August 10, 2016 3:36 PM

All replies

• Hi Ian Olayvar,

To use Send page or Send link, you need to have a default e-mail program set.

Except for 2 exceptions (covered later) you cannot use a web-based e-mail service as the default. On Windows 8, you can't use the mail app as the default.

Windows Live Mail is popular and can easily be set to use Hotmail or Outlook.com as the e-mail service