none
How to customise project sites security in Project Server 2010 RRS feed

  • Question

  • Hi,

    The main problem is that i'm not satisfied by default security settings of project sites.

    I know that the security of a project site is based on PWA security via permission levels.

    First, is there a way to modify permissions for a permission level for all projects sites ?

    Second, I know that manual synchronisation reset all permission levels settings, but does anything else will make the same automatically ?

    If you think I'm going in a wrong direction for the main problem, I'll welcome any advice.

    Thanks for your time,

    Fylim


    Monday, July 29, 2013 5:31 PM

All replies

  • There are a couple of options:

    1) http://www.epmfaq.com/ssanderlin/project-server-2007/adjust-the-default-project-web-access-permission-levels

    2http://nearbaseline.com.au/blog/2011/04/customising-workspace-site-permissions-with-code/

    However it might be helpful to us, to describe what changes are you trying to make to the permission levels. We might be able to come up with an out of the box solution through security configuration.


    Prasanna Adavi,PMP,MCTS,MCITP,MCT http://thinkepm.blogspot.com

    Monday, July 29, 2013 7:34 PM
    Moderator
  • Thanks for your answer.

    Mainly, I want to change permissions for the project manager permission level.

    For exemple they need to manage permissions and create subsites but not to customize pages.

    I will investigate your solutions.

    Monday, July 29, 2013 8:23 PM
  • The second option has  been chosen, thanks again.

    But something still scares me : i've tried the manual synchronization of a project site and for every part (document, folder or sub site) where the heritage was broken, it delete all users (even admin) except the system account.

    Do you know if something like that may happen without doing the manual synchronization ?

    Tuesday, July 30, 2013 7:39 PM
  • I am not sure I understand your question.

    When you add/change user permissions, the users are deleted first and then readded with revised permissions (happens in a serial fashion). This happens in any kind of sync, manual or automatic.


    Prasanna Adavi,PMP,MCTS,MCITP,MCT http://thinkepm.blogspot.com

    Wednesday, July 31, 2013 5:26 PM
    Moderator
  • If I break the inheritance from a project site document, folder or sub site and then make a manual synchronization of the project site in PWA server settings, permissions (for this document, folder or sub site) vanish and are never readded except for the system account.

    I want a sub site with restricted permissions so I break the inheritance of it but I'd like to know if something will have the same effect than a manual synchronization.


    • Edited by Fylim Wednesday, July 31, 2013 7:21 PM
    Wednesday, July 31, 2013 6:35 PM