How to use ADFS Pre Authentication with a static iis website RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all, I believe it is possible to use adfs with a static webpage . Could someone please explain how to do this. A brief how to with no assumptions (as I am new to adfs) would be great. I have got adfs working in my lab using a claims aware sample app but I am struggling to get it working with a static webpage.

Thanks in advance.

Andrew

Monday, September 25, 2017 5:58 PM

All replies

• A bit oldish but still works: https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc753987(v=WS.10).aspx 

Note: Posts are provided “AS IS” without warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to the implied warranties of merchantability and/or fitness for a particular purpose.

Tuesday, September 26, 2017 2:10 AM
  • Hi, thanks for reply, however this apply to a sample claims aware app and it is a static page with no authentication that I need some help with.
    Tuesday, September 26, 2017 2:05 PM
  • That the point. If you do not need authentication, then you do not need ADFS. If you want ADFS, you want some managed code.

Note: Posts are provided “AS IS” without warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to the implied warranties of merchantability and/or fitness for a particular purpose.

Tuesday, September 26, 2017 5:22 PM
  • Unless you mean, you want to publish an anonymous application externally using WAP. Is that the scenario?

Tuesday, September 26, 2017 5:23 PM
  • Yes, you can publish a static webpage with ADFS and the Web Application Proxy.  You can follow the directions here:

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dn383640(v=ws.11).aspx#Publish an Integrated Windows authenticated-based Application for Web Browser Clients