PowerShell -Identity in get-aduser is null or empty on command when using a variable RRS feed

• Question

• I am fairly new to PowerShell and have a script that parts works via the command however not when ran as a script.  The problem appears when a variable assinged from a previous function is used in a second function inside of a for loop.  I can echo the variable and see the correct value.  However, I continue to see the following output:

LMikula
    KNelson
    TCoyne
    JSpeedone
    BVanpay
    ---
    ---
    samaccountname
    --------------
    ---
    rchen
    ---
    tgundersen
    ---
    rchen
    Get-ADUser : Cannot bind parameter 'Identity' to the target. Exception setting
    "Identity": "Cannot validate argument on parameter: 'Identity'. The argument is
     null or empty. Supply an argument that is not null or empty and then try the c
    ommand again."
    At C:\Users\dsawyer\Desktop\psScript2.ps1:33 char:41
    +     get-aduser -server ks001-dc1  -Identity <<<<  $memberID -properties emplo
    yeeNumber
        + CategoryInfo          : WriteError: (:) [Get-ADUser], ParameterBindingEx
       ception
        + FullyQualifiedErrorId : ParameterBindingFailed,Microsoft.ActiveDirectory
       .Management.Commands.GetADUser
    PS C:\Windows\system32>

This is what the script looks like.

import-module activedirectory
    set-executionpolicy -scope CurrentUser unrestricted
    set-executionpolicy unrestricted
    cls
    $members = @(Get-ADGroupMember 'EWA Employee Lookup' | ft samaccountname)
    echo $members
    echo "---"
    echo $members[0]
    echo "---"
    echo $members[1]
    echo "---"
    echo $members[2]
    echo "---"
    echo $members[3]
    echo "---"
    $counter = 2
    echo $members.Length
    for($counter; $counter -lt $members.Length; $counter ++)
    {
     	$memberID = [string]$members[$counter].value
    	echo $counter
    	echo $members[$counter]
    	echo $memberID.value
    	echo $memberID