bdc insert, delete and update RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to sharepoint.
    I have created a custom web part to retrieve the information.  it shows the information that I need.  If I want the user has the ablility to update or insert new data.  Do I use bdc? The custom web part (.net code)  is using the sql server on another data server.   Any assistance will be appreciated.

Thanks

Wednesday, June 24, 2009 3:32 PM

Answers

• BDC is used for surfacing data from LOB systems to SharePoint, By using BDC combined with BDC webparts allows you to deploy no code solutions, in your case since you have gone custom webpart route there is really no need to use BDC unless you are doing some customized rendering in your webpart but want to leverage BDC so your custom code doesn't need to manage connections, provide Create, Retrieve, Update, Delete functionality etc. The other thing you probably should know is although write backs to LOB systems are supported its not quite straightforward, there are some tools out there that helps with creating BDC app def files, MS ships a free editor with SDK, you can also purchase BDC metaman which has lot more functionality than free tool offers.
    • Proposed as answer by Ram Gopinathan Thursday, June 25, 2009 5:11 AM
    • Marked as answer by kkmick Monday, June 29, 2009 1:20 PM
    Thursday, June 25, 2009 5:10 AM

All replies