Sharepoint 3.0 - Export to Spreadsheet - owssrv.dll RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to Sharepoint, as i just recently took this over in the wake of our sysadmin's departure.

Attempting to export an database info to spreadsheet, returns ""To export a list, you must have a Windows SharePoint Services-compatible application."If you click yes, it downloads owssrv.dll

Not sure how to proceed as the expected outcome would be an xls document.  the client machine has office ent 2k7.

• Moved by Clayton Cobb Tuesday, December 7, 2010 9:03 AM Not a 2010 question (From:SharePoint 2010 - General Questions and Answers)
    Monday, December 6, 2010 7:38 PM

All replies

• Monday, December 6, 2010 7:59 PM
  • I guess I am not thinking that far out of the box, initially I was using firefox.  Changed over to IE.

Added site to trusted sites

Now Export to Spreadsheet(via IE) - Download popup for owssvr.iqy - click open - excel opens up -

"Microsoft Office Excel Security Notice:

Path <...>.iqy

Data connections have been blocked. blah blah blah"

Enable or Disable.

Enable - You do not have adequate permissions to modify this list. Changes to your data cannot be saved.  No data is displayed.

My user account is granted full access.

Monday, December 6, 2010 8:18 PM
  • As you are aware (because you have posted to them earlier) there are pre-SP 2010 forums.

These (and only these) are the correct place for WSS 3.0 questions.

Moderator: Please move this thread to SharePoint - Setup, Upgrade, Admin ... (pre-Sharepoint 2010).

Poster: Please in future continue to post WSS 3.0 and other pre-SP 2010 questions directly to a pre-SP 2010 forum.

(Moderator pre-SP 2010 forums)

SP 2010 "FAQ" (mainly useful links): http://wssv4faq.mindsharp.com/default.aspx
    WSS3/MOSS FAQ (FAQ and Links) http://wssv3faq.mindsharp.com/default.aspx
    Both also have links to extensive book lists and to (free) on-line chapters

Tuesday, December 7, 2010 8:03 AM