Running a BAT or VBS file outside of the bubble - AppV 5.0 DeploymentConfig.XML Scripting RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I am fairly new to App-V 5.0 and am trying to understand launching scripts from the DeploymentConfig.xml file.

The requirements I have are as follows:

Set a new entry in the Passthrough key at HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\AppV\Subsystem\VirtualRegistry

<MachineScripts>     

<PublishPackage>
            <Path>wscript.exe</Path>
            <Arguments>[{AppVPackageRoot}]\..\Scripts\UpdatePassThroughPaths.vbs</Arguments>
            <Wait RollbackOnError="true" Timeout="30"/>
          </PublishPackage>

</MachineScripts>

This works fine.  I guess I could add it to the AddPackage event, not sure what the advantage would be?

However I also need to run a bat or vbs (would be better) file every time the application is launched.  There will also be an ExitProcess event triggered too, but I am trying to get the Startprocess to work.

Here is an extract of the DeploymentConfig.xml file:

<UserScripts>
          <StartProcess RunInVirtualEnvironment="false">
            <Path>cmd.exe</Path>
            <Arguments>/C C:\temp\test.bat</Arguments>
            <Wait RollbackOnError="true"/>
            <ApplicationId>[{ProgramFilesX64}]\some.exe</ApplicationId>
          </StartProcess>
       </UserScripts>

I have written a test batch file that should write a registry key in HKCU as that is what my script will do, but it does not appear to work inside or outside the "bubble".  Am I missing something, doing something wrong?

• Edited by SteveWeaver Monday, August 3, 2015 12:31 PM Typo
    Monday, August 3, 2015 12:29 PM

Answers

• Here below is my DeploymentConfig which I've tested & it created a key under HKCU,

Have you tested your .BAT File manually & see if that work as expected?