none
Need to delete text files based on the contents of a text file? RRS feed

• Question

• I am pretty new to digging this deep into my computer at work, but I would really like to automate this process to help relieve some of the strain on my coworker. Every morning a text file is generated that lists the files our machines put out to track what they have done. There are usually quite a few of these, and they are spread out between about 17 different folders. Here is an example of the text report:

m:\trumpf3\ncdone\rueck091.txt:DA,'1599','159935','159903500',1,1,3518
    m:\trumpf3\ncdone\rueck092.txt:DA,'CP_TAPESHOT',1
    m:\trumpf3\ncdone\rueck093.txt:DA,'CP_TAPESHOT',1
    m:\trumpf3\ncdone\rueck094.txt:DA,'CP_TAPESHOT',1

m:\trumpf5\ncdone\rueck499.txt:DA,'2178','217804','217800400',1,1,450,''
    m:\trumpf5\ncdone\rueck500.txt:DA,'1647','164714','164701400',1,1,2806,''
    m:\trumpf5\ncdone\rueck501.txt:DA,'1593','159301','159300100',1,1,435,''
    m:\trumpf5\ncdone\rueck502.txt:DA,'CP_TRIM_OFF',1
    m:\trumpf5\ncdone\rueck503.txt:DA,'1672','167201','167200100',3,1,907,''

Each line is a different file on the server, but some of them we do not need, and if we leave them in the system errors out when we scan the work into the tracking system. So we have to manually find each file and delete it. Basically, if it doesn't follow the format of the first line, we need to remove it. I have tried a couple of things to make this happen, but I can't figure out how to make it use this text file. Instead I am running through Excel to filter out the good ones. Is there an easier way? I'm not going to be the one actually running this, so it would be great if I could reduce the likelihood of error.

Thank you for your help

Tuesday, December 16, 2014 12:06 PM

Answers

• The expression above will match the lines correctly, you just need to tell it to delete the files.