none
Windows member servers and workstations syncing their time with in-house 3rd party NTP host?

Question

• Hello all,

I am an IT administrator in a big enterprise environment.

Recently I have been assigned with a task to point all windows clients (Windows 7 and Windows 10) and Windows member servers (Windows 2008 R2 SP1 and Windows 2012 R2) to a third party NTP server. We have clustered InfoBlox solution in-house which works as DHCP, DNS and NTP server. All the member servers/workstations in our domains are no longer going to sync the time with the Domain Controllers. The PDC itself is syncing with InfoBlox.

How do you find such an idea? Is it supported my Microsoft?

Thank you in advance.

BR,

Nikolay

Friday, March 17, 2017 8:05 AM

All replies

• Hi

You can configure PDC as time server or also configure it from a external NTP.The point is all other DC's,member servers,computers sync time config from PDC.

Also you should check these details articles for time server;

How the Windows Time Service Works

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc773013%28v=ws.10%29.aspx?f=255&MSPPError=-2147217396

https://blogs.technet.microsoft.com/nepapfe/2013/03/01/its-simple-time-configuration-in-active-directory/

This posting is provided AS IS with no warranties or guarantees,and confers no rights. Best regards Burak Uğur

Friday, March 17, 2017 9:23 AM
  • Hi Burak,

Thank you for your reply.

However, I know that and our environment is configured exactly like on the links you provided.

What I face now:

- I am required to change the configuration of the Windows members servers and workstations to point to external NTP server. It is actually in-house NTP server called InfoBlox. They are not going to sync with the Domain Controllers anymore.

- The PDC is going to continue to sync to InfoBlox as it is now.

Have you faced such an implementation?

Thank you in advance.

BR,

Nikolay

Friday, March 17, 2017 10:26 AM