locked
If I temporarily disable document versioning on a document library, will it erase the history? RRS feed

  • Question

  • I've run into the "cannot read from the source file or disk" issue when trying to move files from one doc library to another.  I've tried the registry modification mentioned here and no dice.  Copying files from one library to the others works just fine; the problem is that there are hundreds of documents and I have document versioning turned on the destination library.  If I were the SharePoint admin, I could work some behind the scenes magic to mass check-in all the docs once copied over, however I'm only a site owner and I also don't have access to the "Site Content & Structure" feature which would also allow for effective doc check in.  The only workaround I can think of at this point is to turn off document versioning on the destination library, copy the files over and then turn versioning back on.  So... if I do this - will I lose all of the doc versioning history on the library?


    Tyler McLaughlin
    Wednesday, October 26, 2011 2:30 PM

Answers

  • Thx for both for the responses -

    I was able to determine the outcome by doing some testing. I also stumbled across a few things along the way.

    1) The answer to my initial question; will disabling versioning on a document library erase the version history? = No.  Thank you Microsoft!  And thx for verification guys.

    2) I discovered a workaround for moving files from one library to another when the "cannot read from the source file or disk" issue is present. (BTW - I'm using Win 7 ENT, Office 2010, IE 9 & SharePoint MOSS 2007) I was able to successfully move files without the error occurring by mapping network drives to the two different document libraries and then moving the files.

    3) Changing the "Require documents to be checked out before they can be edited?" to No, in the document library versioning settings also prevents from having to check them in initially.


    Tyler McLaughlin
    Thursday, October 27, 2011 3:40 PM

All replies

  •  if I do this - will I lose all of the doc versioning history on the library?


    Tyler McLaughlin

    I believe so, yes. If you have two libraries, lib1 & lib2, both with version history - and you disable lib2's versions, then move the documents, then re-enable version history - documents from lib1 will not retain their history in lib2.
    Joe
    Wednesday, October 26, 2011 6:03 PM
  • Yes, you will lose the history of the documents if you copy documents from a library A to library B. You are only copying the latest version of the document.

    If you disable version history and enable it again, your history will stay intact.

    If you cut the file from library A, copy it somewhere else and then back to library A, you will lose the history.

     


    Regards, Marijn Somers|| http://www.beyond-it.be || Twitter: http://twitter.com/marijnsomers || http://marijnsomers.blogspot.com
    Thursday, October 27, 2011 2:59 PM
  • In a GUI perspective, yes you are.  The Content Databases will still retain the orphaned items but you'll have no way to access these or reassociate them with the parent object.
    Steven Andrews | SharePoint Professional | http://www.twitter.com/backpackerd00d | https://baron72.wordpress.com/
    Thursday, October 27, 2011 3:27 PM
    Answerer
  • Thx for both for the responses -

    I was able to determine the outcome by doing some testing. I also stumbled across a few things along the way.

    1) The answer to my initial question; will disabling versioning on a document library erase the version history? = No.  Thank you Microsoft!  And thx for verification guys.

    2) I discovered a workaround for moving files from one library to another when the "cannot read from the source file or disk" issue is present. (BTW - I'm using Win 7 ENT, Office 2010, IE 9 & SharePoint MOSS 2007) I was able to successfully move files without the error occurring by mapping network drives to the two different document libraries and then moving the files.

    3) Changing the "Require documents to be checked out before they can be edited?" to No, in the document library versioning settings also prevents from having to check them in initially.


    Tyler McLaughlin
    Thursday, October 27, 2011 3:40 PM