none
DPM 2010 Replication inconsistent, verification in progress - never finishes RRS feed

• Question

• Hello all,

I'm trying to pick up a problem with DPM but unfortunately, I have very little experience with this and was hoping someone could help point me in the right direction.

There are many physical and virtual servers protected and one particular server hasn't been protected for a month. The alert advised that the backup wasn't consistent and to perform a consistency check. I have tried to run this a couple of times but it never appears to finishe, it always states 'verification in progress'

I have tried removing the server from the protection group, uninstalling the client, re-installing then running the consistency check again but it made no difference.

The server in question is a file server running 2012R2 with ABE, DDUPE and has shadow copy enabled. The volume being protected is 1TB in size with approx 500GB free.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Kind Regards

Wednesday, August 29, 2018 2:15 PM

All replies

• Hello Gary,

For how long have you been waiting for the consistency check?

A consistency check checks every file in a 2 steps process. A lightweight comparison of file metadata to see what files may be different, then a heavyweight comparison of the files data to correct differences.

Inconsistencies can occur for the following two reasons:

• The filter driver on the protected server loses track of block level changes (for example: system crash, or unexpected cluster failover)
    • A Sync failed in the middle and we could not update the replica.

A month is still quite long, and if it's a file server, there usually are a lot of files, you mentioned half of the 1TB is free so that leaves 500GB of data. In this case it's quite normal that the consistency check can take some time to finish.

Best regards,
    Leon

Blog: https://thesystemcenterblog.com LinkedIn: