none
Help! ATT Uverse DSL Upgrade causes loss of internet

Question

• Hey Gang, AT&T has "upgraded" my DSL service to Uverse DSL. As everyone here probably knows, DHCP can not be disabled on AT&T's modem / router. I am running a WSE 2012 server with DHCP enabled and using a Netgear Nighthawk AC1900 as a modem / router. Everything was working great before the upgrade! After the upgrade, I attempted to join my Nighthawk to the AT&T M/R so that I might disable DHCP on my side and continue business. I can join the Nighthawk, get internet functioning, and use the internet with a computer wired directly to the Nighthawk. When I disable DHCP on the Nighthawk to join my server into the mix, the Nighthawk quits responding. I have no experience with cascading. Any help would be greatly appreciated. PS. I have no problem purchasing other hardware to return functionality. Thanks.

AT&T M/R: PACE 5268AC FXN

MY M/R: Netgear Nighthawk AC1900

Thursday, August 10, 2017 3:31 PM

Answers

• Sorry for the slow reply. I installed a Linksys router and it worked like a charm. I went back and tried to install the Netgear M/R and it just wouldn't work. Everything is good.
    • Marked as answer by JDean1 Thursday, August 31, 2017 5:00 PM
    Thursday, August 31, 2017 5:00 PM

All replies

• Hi,

>When I disable DHCP on the Nighthawk to join my server into the mix, the Nighthawk quits responding.
    Please try to check/upgrade firmware of your router and confirm the result.

I am not quite understand about the “Nighthawk quits responding” exactly mean, please reference product description and make sure that this router is correctly configured(you may try to re-configured it manually, re-start the router and confirm the result) and working(indicator light status).