Changing Output Color RRS feed

• Question

• I am a beginner I powershell but have been working with it over the past several days.  Have created a script to display basic computer info (with a lot of help from  various youtube videos).

Get-WMIObject win32_logicalDisk -ComputerName $env:computername | Select-Object SystemName, DeviceID, VolumeName,

@{name="Size(GB)"; expression={"{0:N1}" -f ($_.size/1gb)}},
      @{name="FreeSpace(GB)"; expression={"{0:N1}" -f ($_.FreeSpace/1gb)}},
      @{name="%FreeSpace(GB)"; expression={"{0:N2}%" -f(($_.FreeSpace/$_.size)*100)}} ,
      @{name="Date"; expression={$(Get-Date -Format "g")}} | Format-Table -AutoSize 

Am looking for help on changing the foreground color output (specifically of the %Freespace output) if for instance the %Freespace falls to less than 75%.  I know if involves an "if then" statement but after a whole afternoon of messing around with it I am reaching out to folks that have a lot more experience than me.  Thanks in advance for any help

Tuesday, February 13, 2018 12:41 AM

All replies

• That is not directly possible with PowerShell.  You will have to learn how to write a much more sophisticated program to be able to output in custom colors.

You can output to HTML and customize that with colors but you will still have to learn more about programming in PowerShell.

\_(ツ)_/

Tuesday, February 13, 2018 1:00 AM
  • Then you are set.  Just write a program that combines the two.  Not that the output cannot be saved with that method.

\_(ツ)_/

Tuesday, February 13, 2018 1:09 AM
  • You will have to start by learning PowerShell.  You cannot use Write-Host that way.  It won't work.

Learn PowerShell and you will understand why.

Learn PowerShell  

\_(ツ)_/

Tuesday, February 13, 2018 1:31 AM
  • Perhaps starting by learning PowerShell would help you to learn something.

Why are all of you kids so lazy.  Why haven't you been able to learn how to read technical material.

\_(ツ)_/