none
Replacing UAG server hardware RRS feed

• Question

• All,

I'm finished with the pilot stage of my DA project, using UAG 2010 SP1. However, it's currently running on an older server, and it's time to replace the hardware and roll out to all laptops.

Although I've found directions for side-by-side migration to 2012, I have no experience with it, and it seems a bit risky to make this my first project, so I'll be sticking with Win2k8R2 and UAG 2010 SP1.

Is there a recommended way to do this? I haven't found any guidance from MSFT after a fair amount of searching.

Top goal is to keep connectivity up for our people currently in the field, though a couple of hours of downtime, if announced ahead of time, would be acceptable.

I can see three approaches:

o- P2V the current server and use a hypervisor (I'd probably use ESXi), but that would involve some downtime

or

o- Bring up the new server as a member of an array containing it and the old server, then shut down the old server. I've not worked with arrays before, so am pretty uncertain if this is a reasonable way to go

or

o- Bring up the new server, give it a random name, don't make it a member of the domain. Then export the configuration of the working machine, shut it down, remove it from the domain, rename the new machine to match the old machine name and set up the IP addresses to match, join it to the domain, install UAG and import the settings from the old machine

Are any of these, or something else I haven't thought of, recommended? Are any of the above a formula for disaster, or just too complex to both with?

Thanks for your thoughts,

Kurt

Friday, November 9, 2012 7:15 PM

Answers