Generate folder list to text file then get ACL of the listed folders in the text file RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm fairly new with Posh and I was trying to lessen the load on the server by first getting a list of folders from a specific location and out put it to a text file. And from there get the listed folders ACL. So far I wa able to generate the text file showing the directory of the folder, but when I tried to get the ACL of the said directory, I get an error path not found. I hope you could help me out. 

Remove-Item "D:\Users\finaloutput.csv" -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue
    #this contains the sharefolder location
    $path = Get-Content -path D:\Users\firststpath.txt
    $FolderPath = $path | Get-ChildItem -Directory -Force -Recurse -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue
    $Folderpath | Out-File -FilePath D:\Users\secondpath.txt -Force -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue
    $inputfile = "D:\Users\secondpath.txt"
    $FolderList = Get-Content $InputFile
    $Output = @()
    ForEach ($Folder in $Folderlist) {
        $Acl = Get-Acl -Path $Folder.FullName
        ForEach ($Access in $Acl.Access) {
    $Properties = [ordered]@{'Folder Name'=$PSPath.FullName;'Group/User'=$Access.IdentityReference;'Permissions'=$Access.FileSystemRights;'Inherited'=$Access.IsInherited}
    $Output += New-Object -TypeName PSObject -Property $Properties            
    }
    }
    $Output | Export-Csv D:\Users\finaloutput.csv

Monday, September 16, 2019 9:07 AM

All replies

• Start by using help to learn how each CmdLet works,

help Import-Csv -online

Do this for all CmdLets so you can understand what they do and how to use them.

You cannot learn PowerShell by guessing.  You must learn the commands and syntax before trying to write code.

The syntax you are suing requires a CSV but you only have a text file.

\_(ツ)_/

Monday, September 16, 2019 9:17 AM
  • Hi,