none
Project Inserts Spurious Actual Start Date RRS feed

• Question

• I inherited a Project 2007 schedule from someone else. He had entered future date actual starts and finishes. I removed them, and then changed some durations. Project suddenly inserted an actual start in one of the tasks. No constraints on the task, nothing special at all. The actual start Project inserted was FUTURE, as well. 

What did I do?

Jim

Thursday, July 31, 2014 11:51 AM

All replies

• Hi Jim,

Do you have a % complete or actual work greater than 0 on this task? Having some actual work on a task will automatically populate the actual start.

Hope this helps,

Guillaume Rouyre, MBA, MCP, MCTS |

Thursday, July 31, 2014 12:24 PM
  • Thank you for the answer. How silly. 

The actual work is spurious. My colleague put in future date actual starts and I removed them.

Can I run a little program to set actual work to zero if actual start is null? (I am an experienced VBA programmer....) Or filter for actual start null and plug zero into actual work?

Jim

• Edited by JimS-Indy Thursday, July 31, 2014 8:05 PM
    Thursday, July 31, 2014 8:04 PM
  • You're more than welcome Jim!

If my reply was helpful, please mark it as an answer so other users with a similar concern can refer to it.

If you do need to build a vba macro, I'd suggest you to start another thread for this. John and Rod who are vba master will surely jump in. That being said, I'd suggest to simply create a view with a filter for tasks with actual start and actual work.

Hope this helps,

Thursday, July 31, 2014 8:56 PM
  • Jim,