none
Outage Planning RRS feed

• Question

• I am seeking information/templates for outage planning.  Specifically in a chemical plant.  I have no experience in this area and am trying to come up to speed quickly on the process.  Any and all information is very much appreciated.

Wednesday, September 12, 2012 3:29 PM

Answers

• No shortcuts here I'm afraid as no template or process from anywhere else is likely to be of any relevance to your outage.

1) Detail all jobs that need doing during the outage.

2) Create work orders that detail the tasks that need doing, probably in 15 minute chunks

3) schedule the work

4) Optimize it.

If this is a big shut with high cost per hour of shutdown, get an experienced planner involved, ideally one that knows your plant. Typically the potential extra cost of a poorly planned shut means only experienced planners should be used. Reads like someone has tried to cut costs, thrown you in the deep end with a large weight around your neck in the hope of a miracle. CYA time I think!

Rod Gill

The one and only Project VBA Book

Rod Gill Project Management

• Proposed as answer by John - Project Thursday, September 13, 2012 3:44 PM
    • Marked as answer by BlueAngel42 Thursday, September 13, 2012 8:49 PM
    Thursday, September 13, 2012 10:07 AM

All replies

• No shortcuts here I'm afraid as no template or process from anywhere else is likely to be of any relevance to your outage.

1) Detail all jobs that need doing during the outage.

2) Create work orders that detail the tasks that need doing, probably in 15 minute chunks

3) schedule the work

4) Optimize it.