Your experience with Metalogix RRS feed

• Question

• Have you used Metalogix to migrate SharePoint 2007 To SharePoint 2010. Can you share your experience, issues you encountered. Do you recommend this tool. Thanks a lot.
    Monday, July 16, 2012 2:37 PM

All replies

• Hi Mayank,

Just to start, I do not know what the policies are on this board for endorsing a third-party product....

That said, I have been using Metalogix Migration Manager since the 2003-2007 migration days, and have used it repeatedly for 2007 to 2010 migrations. The tool has been evolving over time and is one of the better ones available in my opinion. I have used other migration tools, and would place this within the top two...

The issue with migrations is always one of complexity - a migration can be as simple as "move this site collection from farm A to farm B" or as complex as "move a subsite from farm A to farm B, promoting it to a new Site Collection, then migrate any running Workflows while retaining Content Types as defined at the subsite level".

What I will say is that this tool is technically in-depth - you will, once you install it, determine just how it is that you wish to use it. Once you have determined what goals you have in mind, research exactly what settings are required to accomplish the task - odds are that the tool has the capability, it's just a matter of finding it within the menuing system.

If you get stuck, drop me a line (email is in my signature) - I'll try to help, but every case is different.

Hope this helps (and is not an official endorsement, FWIW),

Troy Lanphier -- MCT/MCSE/MCITP SharePoint Server 2010 Administration -- Author: Microsoft SharePoint Foundation 2010 Inside Out -- http://blog.sharepointcookbook.com

Monday, July 16, 2012 3:20 PM