none
Sorting subtasks across subprojects in a report view RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm fairly new to Project and am having an issue sorting subtasks across subprojects. I'm using MS Project Standard 2013.

In my scenario, I have 20 project files linked into a 'master' project file as subprojects. 

Each of these projects have about 50 tasks (all based off the same template). Most of the tasks are grouped as subtasks under various summary tasks.

I have a couple of important milestone meetings that I'll call M1, M2 and M3. I have filters set up in the master project which filter only subtasks named M1, M2, or M3. This part seems to work well.

I am trying to create one report, with a table on each page. Each table has one of the above filters applied. After applying the filter, I want to sort the tasks by start date. This is where my problem lies. It appears that Project is sorting first by my subproject start dates, and then by the subtasks within the subproject. I want to just see all filtered tasks sorted in order, regardless of summary task order.

As an example: Project A started Jan 1 2015, and Meeting 1 should occur Nov 1 2015. Project B started in Jan 1 2014, and Meeting 1 should occur Nov 15 2015. Setting up my report with the M1 filter and sorting by oldest to newest currently has Project B's M1 sort before Project A's M1, because B's subproject started in 2014 which is earlier than A's start date of 2015. In my example, A's M1 is Nov 1, while B's M1 is Nov 15; A should sort before B. 

I made a quick example below (dates and name have been changed to protect the innocent). The report sort order should be Subtask B from Project B, then Project A, then Project C, based on the a-z sort date of start.