SfB Online Ports Question RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Guys, 

I'm by no means an SfB admin so please bear with me...

I'm a network engineer within my organisation and we are experience issues with media comm's (calls, video and presentation sharing) between SfB online clients separated by an internal firewall. 

What I am seeing is traffic being dropped at the internal firewall when a media session is established between the two SfB online clients. The ports that I am seeing being dropped are TCP/UDP 500XX.

We also within our organisation have an SfB onprem environment. Within this environment we have specified specifically which ports are utilised for media comm's (calls, video and presentation sharing) using the SfB shell. However, having done some reading, it does not seem obvious how we would specify specific port utilisation for SfB online clients for client to client media communications as no such SfB online cmdlet seems to exist. 

Get-CsConferencingConfiguration - would be used in an onprem environment to highlight the utilised ports although there does not appear to be such a command in the Online implementation. 

As i say, I'm not a SfB admin, however having done some reading I understand (I believe this is correct?) that SfB clients historically require ports TCP / UDP 50000-59999 open between the client and the SfB online server infrastructure. However, I believe that this is no longer a requirement so long as ports UDP 3478-3481 + TCP 443 are open between the client and the online servers (outbound only I assume). If those ports are not open, communications will fall back to TCP / UDP 50000-59999 between client and server. 

A few questions... 

1. The SfB clients are attempting to communicate internally directly with one another during media sessions over the 500XX ports. Is there a way to customise this in an online implement as there is in onprem?