none
How to restore disabled autoruns from command prompt? RRS feed

• Question

• Very longtime Autoruns user. I'm not an IT pro but have used (and tweaking) Windows since 1989. I'm fairly conservative in changing settings to regain performance and memory so I don't screw things up, until yesterday it seems.

Dell Optiplex 7040, Win 10 1903.

Apparently I disabled something, maybe a driver, or something else, that resulted in Windows not booting with an "Inaccessible Boot Device" error.

Have gone through the Win 10 troubleshooting but no help. SFC scannow resulted in 100% verification but then said "Windows Resource Protection could not perform the requested operation". I'm 98.9% confident that the problem is not a disk error, corrupted file, MBR, etc. but rather something I unchecked in Autoruns.

With a USB recovery disk and command prompt I've navigated to the folder where Autoruns is located, a "Data" partition on the HDD.

It's not clear to me from looking at the command line usage list if this is possible, but, is there anyway I can run Autoruns, from command prompt, with a command to reset everything back to default? Or perhaps some other way restoring what was disabled in Autoruns?

If it helps, I can remove the HDD and use an adapter to attach it to a working PC. Perhaps I can use Autoruns from the good PC to reset items on the other PC?

If more info is needed before offering advice let me know.

Any help is sincerely appreciated.

Ken
    Monday, April 20, 2020 3:48 PM

All replies

• If you have ever observed how Autoruns work using Process Monitor, you should already know how it works.

By example, if a remove the check sign near to a a registry entries,

You would see Autoruns to create a new Key called AutorunsDisabled under the path where the key we have disabled reside.