none
How can I create dynamic file references in Power Query? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I'm new at using PowerQuery, and so far I like it. There's one thing I am struggling with though... Once I have set up my PoweQuery connections, I don't find an easy way to change the file to which the query is connecting. I'm using it for a monthyl recurring process, and every month the source data to query on woudl be different. The same in format/structure, but just a different dataset.

Is there a way to make the source setup more dynamic? Can I for example in a parameters sheet enter the name and path of the new source file and update the queries?

Currently the Advanced editor shows me following file reference:

let
        Source = Excel.Workbook(File.Contents("Z:\Templates\EMEA\Source Data Tables\EMEA_EW_Source_Data_for_Power_Queries v1.xlsm")),

Thanks in advance for suggestions

Tuesday, June 3, 2014 9:49 AM

Answers

All replies

• Yes, this is something that you can do with Power Query. Here's how you can do it:

• Create a table in Excel containing your parameter value. Let's say that it has one column, called ParameterValue, and one row.
    • Create a new Power Query query that gets the data from this table. Call the query something like ParameterQuery.
    • In your original query you will now be able to reference values from your parameter query by saying something like this:

Source = Excel.Workbook(File.Contents(ParameterQuery[ParameterValue]{0})),

HTH,

Chris

Check out my MS BI blog I also do SSAS, PowerPivot, MDX and DAX consultancy and run public SQL Server and BI training courses in the UK

Tuesday, June 3, 2014 11:39 AM
  • Thanks for the quick response, Chris, this is exactly what I needed. It works perfectly.

Regards,

Niels

Tuesday, June 3, 2014 6:58 PM
  • Thanks for this information. Would it be possible to store these values in a JSON or YAML file?