none
Limiting Size of Personal Desktop RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I was recently and forcefully appointed IT-Manager at a small company. I am just a Project Manager with limited experience in running and maintaining a company IT-Infrastructure, hence the forcefully. :)

Anyway, we are running Windows 7 machines and Exchange 2010. We synchronize parts of our local profiles (desktop, my documents, etc.) to the server to ensure that when a machine shorts out or you want to work on a different machine, you have access to your most important personal files. I advise all staff to use the network drives for all other data and it works fine. Each user profile is between 200MB and 800MB, no problems there. We have just one black sheep in the outfit with a profile of 17GB.

The twist: it is the Managing Director and owner of the outfit. I have told him about 200 times to not store stuff on his desktop. To no avail. He cleaned the desktop about a month ago and now he is back to a 10GB desktop.

So the question is: Is there a way to limit the number of files or the overall size of files on a desktop? My predecessor assigned a fairly small part of the server-side hard drives for storing and handling the user profiles, and obviously, with the boss's high storage demand, we constantly run into system crashes because of failed synchronizations - just because the network drive has about 10MB of free space.

I appreciate your help!

Marko

• Edited by BigBadYoda Monday, March 10, 2014 9:24 AM
    Monday, March 10, 2014 9:23 AM

All replies

• Is there a way to limit the number of files or the overall size of files on a desktop?