none
Multi Project not re-scheduling RRS feed

• Question

• Strange Problem, I have a master plan, if I extend the duration of any activity in a sub project while it is open in the master plan, any relevant successors do not move even though there is a FS relationship between them.

Everything works fine if I make the same changes to same activity in the sub project in isolation.

Problem only occurs when open in Master, which defeats object of master plan. May be a simple settings error or something, as it has worked OK in past, any ideas?

Thanks.

Thursday, March 1, 2012 11:00 AM

Answers

• Hi,

This may happen when links between projects create a circular relationship. If you have links between the projects, delete them one by one till calculation returns to normal.

Greetings,

• Marked as answer by bouncer3000 Friday, March 2, 2012 12:40 PM
    Thursday, March 1, 2012 3:20 PM

All replies

• Hi,

what happens if you hit "F9" for recalculation? Maybe, your Master schedule is not set to auto-calculation?

Check in 2010: File - Options - Schedule - Calculation
    Check in 2007: Tools - Options - Calculation - Calculation Mode.

Regards
    Barbara

Thursday, March 1, 2012 11:09 AM
  • Thanks Barbara, but yes I have double checked and plan is definately in auto schedule mode. Tried f9 anyway but makes no difference.
    Thursday, March 1, 2012 11:19 AM
  • Hi,

I can only reproduce this with following: Having a constraint with "Not Later than" + Warnings disabled. So having a scheduling conflict, which stops Project from moving task, but without telling me because of disabled warnings.

Perhaps someone else has more ideas?
    Barbara

Thursday, March 1, 2012 3:09 PM
  • Hi,

This may happen when links between projects create a circular relationship. If you have links between the projects, delete them one by one till calculation returns to normal.

Greetings,

• Marked as answer by bouncer3000 Friday, March 2, 2012 12:40 PM
    Thursday, March 1, 2012 3:20 PM