Update Rollout Based on Build RRS feed

• Question

• Hello!

I'm new to WSUS, and a tad confused on how I can rollout updates to multiple computers with different Windows 10 builds.
    More specifically, I am attempting to rollout the Windows 10 patch from this Bulletin:
    https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/security/ms17-010.aspx

At the bottom of that page, the updates for Windows 10 vary based on which build you have. In my environment we have multiple builds. In WSUS I can only simply approve an update for a group of computers- so will it simply not run the update if the builds do not match, in which case I can download the MSU for all windows builds and run them at once to cover my ground?

Hopefully thats not too confusing, and I appreciate any assistance or time spent reading my post!

Wednesday, May 17, 2017 7:48 PM

Answers

• Hello!

I'm new to WSUS, and a tad confused on how I can rollout updates to multiple computers with different Windows 10 builds.
    More specifically, I am attempting to rollout the Windows 10 patch from this Bulletin:

At the bottom of that page, the updates for Windows 10 vary based on which build you have. In my environment we have multiple builds. In WSUS I can only simply approve an update for a group of computers- so will it simply not run the update if the builds do not match, in which case I can download the MSU for all windows builds and run them at once to cover my ground?

Hopefully thats not too confusing, and I appreciate any assistance or time spent reading my post!

for your example, MS17-010, for Win10;
    Windows 10 Version 1507, KB4012606 applies.
    Windows 10 Version 1511, KB4013198 applies.
    Windows 10 Version 1607, KB4013429 applies.