locked
move documents along with its version through workflow RRS feed

  • Question

  • hi

    suggest which of the 2 ways is possible through Designer workflow,

    1)can i move a document along with its version to another library where same settings are enabled.

    2)can i move a document from a library and add as a new version to another item present in another library.

    Thanks 


    Wednesday, April 22, 2015 6:32 AM

Answers

  • Hi Krishna,

    When you move a document to another library by a SharePoint Designer Workflow, the version history is not maintained. This behavior is by design, because the version history of a document is relative to its original document library. The moved document is considered as a new document in the destination library.

    The only solution is to move the documents via Windows Explorer or through Manage Content & Structure. Open the two document libraries in Windows Explorer and move your files from source to destination or move your files through Manage Content & Structure.

    The Manage Content & Structure feature is only available in Enterprise edition.

    NOTE: The version will be maintained if you MOVE the files. If the files are COPIED it will not maintain the version.


    Please remember to click 'Mark as Answer' if the reply answers your query or 'Upvote' if it helps you.

    Wednesday, April 22, 2015 7:02 AM