shared cluster volume - failure RRS feed

• Question

• I am trying to figure out how I can make a clustered shared volume redundant. I understand that if I have a CSV and one cluster node goes down other nodes will still be able to access the shared cluster volume. But what if the CSV itself goes down? How do I get some redundancy for it? 
    Thursday, April 8, 2010 6:58 AM

Answers

• Hi,

Good question!

Cluster Shared Volumes(CSV) is a new feature available in Windows Server 2008 R2. With Cluster Shared Volumes, multiple clustered virtual machines can use the same LUN (disk) while still being able to fail over (or move from node to node) independently of one another.

In a way, CSV is a mount point for the LUN. So what you want to do is actually to ensure your shared storage device(maybe SAN or something like it) keep living. I am not a professional of SAN, but I can give a little example.

Some guy can’t afford(or they don’t want) to buy a SAN in a test environment, so they can install some iSCSI target applications such as Microsoft iSCSI Target or StarWind on a normal computer with Windows Server system. If this computer only have one hard disk, you may lost everything if you get a disk failure, in this situation, the cluster nodes will die.  Under a permittable condition, we can configure a RAID 5 to ensure the safety on the disk level.

Cluster Shared Volumes Support for Hyper-V

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd630633(WS.10).aspx

Best Regards,

Vincent Hu

• Marked as answer by Vincent Hu Monday, April 12, 2010 8:11 AM
    Friday, April 9, 2010 9:36 AM

All replies

• Hi,

You should do backup on each VM. DPM 2010 RC support backup for CSV.

You seldom will have CSV down as CSV is tied to SAN storage. If you want, replicate to another SAN storage as an alternative.

laiys
    Thursday, April 8, 2010 9:13 AM
  • Maybe its not really direct answer to your question, but still: