none
Pulling a task start date in a Master Schedule column RRS feed

• Question

• I'd like to know if its possible to show the start date of a particular task in a column of a simple master schedule.

I have a master schedule of several similar projects. The projects are collapsed to a single line for presentation purposes, to give an simple overview of all the projects we're working on.

Each project has the tasks: Design, Construction, Occupancy and Closeout. The problem is, the default Start and Finish of the project is deceiving because we'd really like to see the start of occupancy as the so called "finish date" rather than the end of Closeout, which is sometimes months long.  

Is there a way to have a column that just pulls the Occupancy start dates? 

Tuesday, June 4, 2013 2:15 PM

All replies

• Have you considered using the timeline view and adding those key milestones to the timeline?  You can certainly add a spare date field and manually enter the Occupancy start dates - you'll just need to manually update the date if the milestone slips. 
    Tuesday, June 4, 2013 2:28 PM
  • I think manually entering the date might be the direction we have to go.  Unfortunately we wont be able to use the timeline. Ideally though, I wanted to avoid the manual labor and potential for errors that might happen with individually entering the data, especially since the data is already there, it just needs to be pulled. 
    Tuesday, June 4, 2013 2:34 PM
  • After a bit of experimenting, there may be a less manual method.  It requires two custom fields, one Flag field and one date field.

1. Insert one of the custom flag fields.  Set the Flag field to "yes" for the Occupancy task. (in the formula below I used the Flag1 field.
    2. Insert a spare Finish field (I used Finish1).
    3. In the Finish1 field enter the following formula:

IIF([Flag1]=-1, [Finish], "NA")

4. The Finish1 field should now have the finish of the Flagged task.