Copy permissions through different computers RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I'm a teacher and I have to configure multiple computers. I modified permissions in different parts of the directories on my 1st computer to allow softwares to work for standard user (not administrator ones).

I was able to get permissions with get-acl on a directory (and write it in a variable var) and to use these permissions with set-acl on another directory. 

I was able to display $var, but just a part of it. To be concrete, here are my commands in an administrator powershell (copy permissions from .\Temp2 to .\Temp3):

$MineDir = Get-Acl -Path .\Temp2\

Set-Acl -Path ".\Temp3\" -AclObject $MineDir

echo $MineDir 

gives: 

Temp2 UX32VD_util1\util1 BUILTIN\Users Deny  DeleteSubdirectoriesAndFiles, Modify, ChangePermissions...

As you can see I don't have all of the contents of MineDir displayed.

If I use :

$testt = echo $DogACL | Format-List

I get all of the permissions formatted.

So my questions are:

1/ How to get permissions on a directory and be able to copy the contents in a script to be able later to use it on other computers ?

2/ Is-it possible to modify name on this content (user1 becomes user2, ... and computer name computer1 becomes computer2, ...).

3/ I want to get permissions on directories under directory1 for example and to be able to apply them on all others computers (the directory structure is identical because I cloned all computers). Is-it possible ?

Thanks for help

Saturday, September 23, 2017 6:06 PM

All replies

• Teacher?  You certainly don't teach grammar, logic or writing.

Reread what you wrote and see if it makes any sense.

As a teacher you should know the first rule - study something before trying to use it.

1/ How to get permissions on a directory and be able to copy the contents in a script to be able later to use it on other computers ?