none
Is it possible to update a Win7 Pro laptop to 8.1 with my PC's Recovery DVDs? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello: I'm coming in here from left field as I'm not a PC techie, just a basic surfer, but I have a question I have not been able to find an answer for. 

Setup: I have a DELL desktop PC running Win 8.1 purchased directly from DELL and I have the Recovery DVD, also for the Drivers and Utilities. My brother-in-law, a doctor, is giving me a Lenovo 14" laptop, running Win 7 Pro, that I bought for him last year because Win 7 is the program that the hospital he's associated with prefers. He told me that he has used the laptop only once and has offered it to me. I want to use the laptop as backup to my PC so I don't always have to roll it out on a cart. Because my needs are minimal I can live with Win 7 but I'd prefer Win 8.1. I can sell the laptop on ebay and buy one with Win 8.1 but not if I can upgrade the laptop from Win 7 to Win 8.1.

Question to the Forum:

Using my PCs Recovery DVDs, can I upgrade the laptop to Win 8.1 without any problems. The laptop is a IBM Lenovo T420 Thinkpad, Win 7 Pro, Intel Core i5, 4 GB, 320 GB, and I think that it can handle the upgrade but I'm not 100% sure. What say you?

Saturday, November 19, 2016 6:01 AM

Answers

• Thank you so much for your convincing reply, Darren, it got through to me. At the moment, it doesn't matter as the doctor told me I may not get the laptop until possibly January 2017 as his hospital just requested work from him and he needs the laptop to do so. Even if he gives it to me I'll just sell it and buy an 8.1 laptop and save myself an error in judgement.

• Marked as answer by tvrodman Sunday, November 20, 2016 11:15 PM
    Sunday, November 20, 2016 11:15 PM

All replies

• You cant use a Dell recovery disk to upgrade a Lenovo.  Basically recovery disks only contain a subset of the OS that can only be used to recover a non booting system

Wanikiya and Dyami--Team Zigzag Windows IT-PRO (MS-MVP)