locked
reconnecting a mailbox - only Inbox is populated RRS feed

  • Question

  • the first thread on this is How to reconnect a mailbox

    i was able to successfully reconnect the mailbox to a dummy account and found all emails in the Inbox, however i found that the other folders like Sent Items are empty.

    is this the normal behaviour for reconnected mailboxes?

    Wednesday, November 25, 2015 7:11 AM

Answers

  • Hi Reno,

    It doesn't make sense. In Exchange, if you delete a mailbox, it is disconnected for a default period of 30 days (the mailbox retention period), and you can reconnect it at any point during that time. Deleting a mailbox does not mean that it is permanently deleted (or purged) from the information store database right away, only that it is flagged for deletion. 

    More details about it, please refer to: https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb232039(v=exchg.150).aspx

    For your question, would you please post detailed steps? Also, try again and confirm whether it can be reproduced.


    Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help, and unmark the answers if they provide no help. If you have feedback for TechNet Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

    Allen Wang
    TechNet Community Support

    • Edited by Allen_WangJF Thursday, November 26, 2015 3:52 PM
    • Marked as answer by Allen_WangJF Wednesday, December 9, 2015 8:03 AM
    Thursday, November 26, 2015 3:52 PM

All replies

  • I don't think so.


    Ed Crowley MVP "There are seldom good technological solutions to behavioral problems."
    Celebrating 20 years of providing Exchange peer support!

    • Proposed as answer by Prem P Rana Thursday, November 26, 2015 4:03 AM
    Wednesday, November 25, 2015 7:25 AM
  • Hi,

    You can see all the mails & folders after restoring the disabled mailbox from database.

    Have you specified any specific folder to restore the mailbox. Like below. It may be the chance to restore all the mail items under the folder. Please see below link.

    https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb125218(v=exchg.141).aspx

    Restore-Mailbox -Identity Scott -RecoveryDatabase MyRecoveryDatabase -RecoveryMailbox John -TargetFolder Recovery
    

    • Proposed as answer by krselva Tuesday, December 1, 2015 2:55 PM
    Wednesday, November 25, 2015 1:25 PM
  • It should not be like that. Try to disable and reconnect the mailbox. 

    Please mark as an answer if this answers your question .

    PREM RANA

    MCSE Exchange 2013, MCSA 2012 Server MCTS Exchange 2007,

    2010, MCITP Exchange 2007, 2010 MCSE 2003 Server,

    MCSA Exchange 2003 ITIL V3 Foundation

    https://ranaprem.wordpress.com/

    This posting is provided AS IS with no warranties and confers no rights.

    Thursday, November 26, 2015 4:04 AM
  • Hi Reno,

    It doesn't make sense. In Exchange, if you delete a mailbox, it is disconnected for a default period of 30 days (the mailbox retention period), and you can reconnect it at any point during that time. Deleting a mailbox does not mean that it is permanently deleted (or purged) from the information store database right away, only that it is flagged for deletion. 

    More details about it, please refer to: https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb232039(v=exchg.150).aspx

    For your question, would you please post detailed steps? Also, try again and confirm whether it can be reproduced.


    Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help, and unmark the answers if they provide no help. If you have feedback for TechNet Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

    Allen Wang
    TechNet Community Support

    • Edited by Allen_WangJF Thursday, November 26, 2015 3:52 PM
    • Marked as answer by Allen_WangJF Wednesday, December 9, 2015 8:03 AM
    Thursday, November 26, 2015 3:52 PM