Security Hole of Azure Information Protection RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am studying Azure Information Protection via https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/information-protection/infoprotect-quick-start-tutorial . I find there are some obvious security holes of the protection schema, as follows:

In step 5, i.e., https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/information-protection/infoprotect-tutorial-step5 , if the owner of the document use “Classify and Protect” to protect a document, and use “Protect with custom permissions” to allow another employee, such as david@mycompany.com to view the document. Then there will be several security holes:

1. Assuming the company policy does not allow employee to release the document to any computers outside the company. But David can easily send the protected document to his personal email and view it in his home.
    2. Assuming the company policy does not allow employee to share the documents to others. But David can easily share the document to others by emails or USB flash drive. Others can view the document by using David’s login details in the RMS system if David disclose these information together with the protected document.

Thus the whole protection seems useless at all. The employee can do prohibited things and unauthorized persons can view the protected documents.

Please advise.

Sunday, September 2, 2018 3:43 AM

All replies

• Hi, if someone wants to look data, it will leak. For example make a photo of content from mobile phone (screenshot will not work). But you can prevent even more like with watermarks and so on.

If someone has David credentials, it is like he is David. System cannot distinct these. It is if I have your password, I am you. Basically.