Add new column to production table RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm relatively new to SQL.  I need to add a column to a key table but there are many users locking the table.  I normally have to as users to log off but I cant imagine this is the only option.

The save operation times out when the table is locked.

Is there a way to add/modify/delete a column at any time regardless of who is using the table?

Thanks

Mani

Tuesday, June 4, 2013 3:35 PM

Answers

• To add to this, if a DDL operation requires only a brief Sch-M lock it's referred to as an "online" operation.  It still must wait for exclusive access to the table, but it holds that exclusive access only for a moment, and users would never really notice.

Online DDL has been enhanced in this scenario in SQL 2012, and adding a non-null column with a default is now an online operation in SQL 2012 Enterprise Edition.

David

David http://blogs.msdn.com/b/dbrowne/

• Proposed as answer by Naomi N Tuesday, June 4, 2013 3:48 PM
    • Marked as answer by Kalman Toth Wednesday, June 12, 2013 12:41 AM
    Tuesday, June 4, 2013 3:45 PM

All replies

• Schema modification (Sch-M) locks are used when a table data definition language (DDL) operation (such as adding a column or dropping a table) is being performed.

Schema stability (Sch-S) locks are used when compiling queries. Schema stability (Sch-S) locks do not block any transactional locks, including exclusive (X) locks. Therefore, other transactions can continue to run while a query is being compiled, including transactions with exclusive (X) locks on a table. However, DDL operations cannot be performed on the table. 

better use alter table cmd rather that using table design mode

alter table tbl add column1 int

ct

Please mark answered if I've answered your question and vote for it as helpful to help other user's find a solution quicker

Tuesday, June 4, 2013 3:41 PM
  • how wide this table is ( total sum of bytes in a ROW)