Completely Confused... RRS feed

• Question

• Last night, I tried to hook my old Fostex MX-8 digital music recorder to my laptop that has WIndows 7 home premium.  The computer automatically began searching for the correct driver, but of course couldn't find it (this Fostex recorder is 10-12 years old, my laptop is 4).  So of course I began trying to find the right driver, and found a program "Driver Detective" online.  I read a few reviews and descriptions and figure what the hell I'll get all drivers updated or whatever.  Keep in mind, I am new to this stuff.

Anyways, I download Driver Detective, and an internet window pops up that says call this number to a service called LogMeIn to activate my new purchase.  Some guy with an accent answers, has me give him remote access, and then proceeds to tell me my computer is basically about to crash and burn in an apocolyptic fiery disaster.  He goes on and on for 45 minutes showing me on my own computer all this crazy stuff that I have no idea what it means.  He says that network security is turned off (which I'll get to later) and that is causing Windows not to recognize my Norton Internet Security (I have Norton 360), which in turn has allowed tons of "infections" to shut down almost half of my microsoft applications.....

This guy finally says I need a level 2 tech, and if I wanted one offline, it would cost me $389.99, but if I let him transfer me to HIS tech support people, it would cost $399.99 and I'd get all these extra benefits....This was where my red flag finally went up.  He was making his pitch hard, to which I said I don't have the money, and he said he'd call back in a few days.

What I want to know is: Is this LogMeIn tech support number that shows up when downloading Driver Detective for real? Can I believe anything he showed me that he SAID was on my computer?  Can this type of situation he told me be possible?