Multiple Playback Devices RRS feed

• General discussion

• Multiple or Dual Playback Devices - Seriously. You cannot use 2 playback devices simultaneously?  That's nonsense.  I LOVE Windows 7... except for this one reason.  People NEED this feature of the old XP very badly.  To tell you the truth, this is such a basic feature, I'm really surprised Microsoft missed it!!

Windows 7 Microsoft people, you need to fix this with the next update.

This is absolutely crucial to me because I use my computer for an HTPC (home theatre PC) & I'm a dj / producer also.
    In order for me to switch between headphones or headset for talking and listening using Realtek AND HTPC output.... I have to restart my computer.  ANNOYING.  I don't need to switch at all, I need them both to play at the same time! 
    Lets just keep it simple here and say I wanted to play iTunes to three different devices at once (1 default playback device & 2 additional devices)
    Using only 1 communication device.  Windows 7 can't do that.  This is BASIC stuff to audio noobs, but especially sound mixing professionals. Are we forced to go Linux? Mac? Really?  I applaud Windows 7, it's really really great.  This is my only problem with it, but it's a big one.  Even if it was a maximum of TWO playback options with ONE communication device I would be ok with it.  But ONE dedicated playback device is extremely limiting for this stage of technology.  I mean come on guys.
    PLEASE UPDATE WINDOWS 7 FOR MULTIPLE PLAYBACK DEVICES!!!

Does anyone know of a workaround for this?

• Edited by mrscottybizzer Wednesday, September 14, 2011 11:04 PM
    • Changed type Miya Yao Friday, September 16, 2011 6:32 AM
    Wednesday, September 14, 2011 11:02 PM

All replies

• Hi mrscottybizzer,

I noticed you've already seen this thread: http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/w7itpromedia/thread/d6644d1b-c660-437c-aa52-b73c2ee3900b 

We've reported this and appreciate your patience.