Macro to Set Checkbox Based on Value of SharePoint Document Property RRS feed

• Question

• I'm a total beginner for writing a Word macro, or anything in VBA for that matter. But I figure that what I want to do can't be too hard. I have request forms (Word documents - .dotm files) stored in a SharePoint 2010 site. I've configured the SharePoint content type with three columns - each is a choice field with Yes or No as the values. Perhaps I could use true/false when I know something more about macros. My client would like those Yes/No fields to be shown in the document as checkboxes - it looks better! So I think what I need to do is have a macro that runs whenever the document is opened to check the value of the SharePoint columns - ActiveDocument.ContentTypeProperties("column name").Value - and set the ActiveDocument.FormFields("checkbox name").Value to true or false accordingly, using an If Then Else statement. Similarly I'll need to do the reverse whenever a document is saved (check the FormFields and set the ContentTypeProperties).

So where to start? Developer tab, Macros, Create...but then what?

Thanks,

Tom

SharePoint Systems Officer, Capital Regional District, BC, Canada

Monday, July 29, 2013 10:40 PM

All replies

• Hi,

I think what you want is that how to create a Word macro.

So the following link will help you:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/office/ff604039(v=office.14).aspx

Jaynet Zhang
    TechNet Community Support

• Marked as answer by Jaynet Zhang Wednesday, July 31, 2013 1:40 AM
    • Unmarked as answer by Tom Benjamin Wednesday, July 31, 2013 2:03 PM
    Tuesday, July 30, 2013 3:10 AM
  • That's link is useful, but hardly an answer!

How do you write a Word macro that runs automatically whenever a document is saved and opened?

How do you get the macro to access the values in form controls (checkboxes) in the document? What is the syntax for checking whether the box is checked or not?