Computer Freezes Momentarily during Gaming RRS feed

• Question

• I'm getting momentarily freezes while playing games on my computer.  The issue has not always been there and had no problems in the past.  I cannot recall any new applications or updates that might have caused the issue; however, I'm constantly upgrading the software on my machine.

When it freezes I don't see anything in Performance Management and I don't see anything in the error logs.  Performance Management looks like it freezes right along with the game.  The freezing is complete in that the video, inputs, and sound all stop and then pick back up.

The worst game currently for the issue is AOE online which is causing a lot of stuttering.  I had this game working perfectly in the past and it stutters a lot now.

My machine is a relatively powerful machine with a 7.7 index in everything (minus the 6.7 in HD).  I keep my machine tuned with System Mechanic and all my drivers are up to date.

I'm a computer professional and I can't seem to find the cause of this problem and it is making me feel like an idiot.  Please help my sanity with some clever and insightful troubleshooting steps or even better a fix!

System Specifics:

Running Windows 8 (fully patched)

NVidia GTX470 (fully patched)

Intel i7 (chipset)

8 GB of ram

256GB SSD HD as primary HD (swap file here)

3 TB 7200 Data Drive (game loads from here)

Friday, June 21, 2013 3:49 PM

Answers

• check all steps from scenario 3:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2028504

The PSu may be the cause.

"A programmer is just a tool which converts caffeine into code"

• Marked as answer by Niki Han Friday, July 5, 2013 2:15 AM
    Friday, June 21, 2013 7:43 PM
    Answerer