none
Assinging rates based on the task performed rather than the person performing the task. RRS feed

• Question

• Please bear with me as I am entirely new to project having previously used entirely different tools. I am relatively new to project management as a whole having taken a few general courses but none using MS Project before. 

I am in a nontraditional situation where the project involves not individual resources or persons having a rate per hour but rather the specific tasks having a specific rate per hour and also a maximum number of hours that may be performed on each task (but oddly not a maximum number of individual team members). I.e. A single member of the project team may be paid a differing rate depending on what it is they are actually doing, rather than based on who they are. Everyone gets paid the same rate for the same job.

My employer wants me to utilize project to determine if the project has sufficient persons assigned to it in order to complete the tasks involved within a specific timeframe and then conversely how long it will take if only a specific number of team members are assigned to the task. Based on these parameters I can do those calculations mathematically naturally but the employer, who knows nothing of Project Management whatsoever, is EMPHATIC that such is not what they want. They want Gantt charts, WBS, etc...

I have been told they are absolutely certain that such is possible using Project 2010 but I am not for the life of me seeing how to go about it. I can create tasks in Gantt view, I can create Resources in resources view. But I cannot see how I can assign rates based on task performed rather than based on the persons performing them. Searching online for resources on this has come up absolutely blank. Though I could certainly do it with Harvest before.