App-V Management Server - Server Groups and Provider Policies Nodes RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to Application Virtualization Management Server and am trying to understand some things about the console.  I have the Management Server installed, but have questions about a few of the nodes.

Server Groups node
    Provider Policies node

What are they and why would I use them?  I read the included product Help, but it doesn't provide a verbose enough description to explain to me how they are useful to me.  Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thursday, July 1, 2010 11:47 AM

Answers

• You would use the Server Groups node to create logical groups of servers that might be servicing different types of clients, e.g. one group services Terminal Servers, whilst another group services desktop machines.

Provider Policies have several functions - they provide authentication information, i.e. how will users authenticate to the Management Server; they can define the refresh settings for the App-V client; and define some licensing settings.

You can apply Provider Policies to Server Groups, so you could have different Server Group that may service different client types or Windows domains and have consistent settings across each set of servers.

• Proposed as answer by znack Friday, July 2, 2010 8:37 PM
    • Marked as answer by Aaron.ParkerModerator Monday, December 19, 2011 1:51 PM
    Thursday, July 1, 2010 12:30 PM

All replies

• You would use the Server Groups node to create logical groups of servers that might be servicing different types of clients, e.g. one group services Terminal Servers, whilst another group services desktop machines.

Provider Policies have several functions - they provide authentication information, i.e. how will users authenticate to the Management Server; they can define the refresh settings for the App-V client; and define some licensing settings.