none
Project Center Permission Issues RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I have 2 issues where Project Center doesn't conform to permissions (Project Server Mode):

1. Users can see all projects in Project Center, even if we remove them from all groups and give them only permission to log-in to Web App. 

2. A user (with proper permissions) clicks on a project in Project Center to see the schedule details - he gets a message "Either you don't have permissions to use the available view, or there is no view available to display the data. Contact the person who manages your Project Web App site.". When I act as his delegate and check this, things work fine

Did any of you bumped into this?

Barak

Monday, May 9, 2016 1:52 PM

Answers

• After opening a ticket to Microsoft, I learnt an interesting thing.

In Online environments (only!!!), if I'm an administrator, I can't check permissions as delegate (what I did). Even as delegate, I see the projects that I have permissions to. Not the projects that the delegated person has permission to (or is it a combination?)

However, On-Premises (Server 2013 and Server 2016) delegation impacts permissions.

According to Microsoft, this difference is BY DESIGN.

Regards,

Barak

Monday, May 23, 2016 12:14 PM

All replies

• Hi Barak,

Where to start with this?  As stated neither 1 nor 2 should work, but it's impossible to diagnose with the details. 

All I can suggest you do is create a new test group and test category based upon the standard templates for a team member.  Then, for a new user assigned to these test group only, see if the same results happen. 

Have a look at  http://www.applepark.co.uk/project-server-security-explained/ for an explanation of how permissions work.

Have you got permissions per user (bad practise).

Ben Howard [MVP] | web | blog | book | P2O

Monday, May 9, 2016 5:46 PM
  • Hi Ben,