Changing to another WSUS server used for SCCM patch download RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone,

I'm very new to WSUS and SCCM. 

Currently there is an old setup using SCCM to update internal system without internet connection. A WSUS with internet access is used to download the patches and then transfer into the SCCM. I need to setup another new WSUS server to takeover the current old WSUS. Is there issue which I need to look out for? Example, do I need to remove all the content inside Wsuscontent inside the SCCM, then copy all the new WSUS server Wsuscontent over? I do know we need to export and import the metadata.

Is the Windows version between the new and old WSUS server important? The new WSUS would be using a newer version. How about WSUS version and any patches needed.

Thanks!

• Edited by WhackyWakie Wednesday, July 8, 2020 10:56 PM add more questions
    Wednesday, July 8, 2020 10:25 PM

All replies

• Hi WhackyWakie,

Thanks for posting on this forum.

Example, do I need to remove all the content inside Wsuscontent inside the SCCM, then copy all the new WSUS server Wsuscontent over?
    Im my opinion, there is no need to do the above operation. Just create a new WSUS server and  force the SCCM point to this server. 

Please refer the following picture to confirm Windows server version and updates requirements when we try to creat a WSUS role:

If you have any feedback about this issue, please let me know.

Regards,
    Rita

Please remember to mark as answers if they help.
    If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

Thursday, July 9, 2020 3:39 AM
  • Thanks Rita,

apologize that I left out too much details.

the old SCCM 2012 have no connection to internet and no connection to the WSUS server. The WSUScontents folder and WSUSutil export .xml.gz are copied to a harddisk and then transfer to the SCCM 2012 server. Using robocopy to save time.