none
Powershell - Trouble getting web page content from IE object RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, I am pretty new to Powershell and just using it for personal stuff.  I have been experimenting with pulling specific info from websites to include in emails to family.  By reading the forums I got pretty good using the Invoke-WebRequest cmdlet, but soon hit upon its limitation of not having access to content constructed dynamically at the time the page is loaded.

Thanks to these forums, I then discovered the IE object and how to pull the data.  I had luck with one website, but another I tried does not work the same.  Hoping for a little help figuring it out.

Here is a snippet of the inspected code for the page, with my target of interest highlighted.

Below is the code where I am trying to extract that text string.  I have tried many iterations and approaches with no success.  What is odd, though, the $ie.Document object supposedly has a "body" object, but when I tried to access it, I get a null object error.  I notice the Document object itself has a getElementsByTagName method, so I tried that.  It does not have a getElementsByClassName method.

Note that the URL I am loading is "https" so I am wondering if this is causing issues.  Suggestions appreciated!  If I can just get a surrounding chunk of the HTML, I am fine doing some string manipulation to get what I want.

#  Create IE object and load URL

$WeatherURL = "https://weather.com/weather/today/l/77630"
    $ie = New-Object -comobject "InternetExplorer.Application"
    $ie.visible = $true
    $ie.navigate($WeatherURL)

# Wait for the page to load 

while ($ie.Busy -eq $true -Or $ie.ReadyState -ne 4) {Start-Sleep 2}

$Doc = $ie.Document

$Weather0 = $Doc.getElementsByTagName('span') `
    | ?{$_.getAttribute('class') -eq "today-wx-description"} | Select-Object -First 1

Tuesday, September 13, 2016 1:48 PM

Answers

• Screen scraping is never reliable especially for the Weather site as it is changed very frequently.