none
Deployment share connection error RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I have a MDT setup in a workgroup environment. I have edited the bootstrap.ini to include my admin user id of

UserID=IP\adminuser

UserPassword=MyAdminPassword

I ran the litetouch.wsf on my reference computer I am trying to capture and it initially connects to the DS to start the process but when the MS solution accelerators screen appears on reboot and it tries to connect to the DS again I get the error telling me a connection to the DS could not be made. Connection OK. Possible cause: invalid credentials. Even though it is the the same credentials that connected to the DS during the litetouch.wsf script correct? Or is there another config file I am supposed to set the credentials in for the next part?

I am new to WDT so I appreciate any assistance. Thank you.

• Edited by jgbka Monday, April 21, 2014 6:09 PM
    Monday, April 21, 2014 12:02 PM

Answers

• Well I could really help you out but at that point you'd just have to hire me as a consultant. ;) I could build it all out in a couple hours. Anyway, yes when dealing with hardware you need to have drivers for Windows PE. Honestly you really should never build a reference image on hardware, use a virtual machine. Windows 8 or Server 2012 R2 has Hyper-V, you just need to add it (Control Panel -> Programs and Features -> Turn Windows features on or off). Do your building and testing on virtual machines, you don't even need to inject any drivers.

Oh and you can get the digital version of that book from Amazon.

As for the drivers: http://www.deploymentresearch.com/Research/tabid/62/EntryId/112/MDT-2013-Lite-Touch-Driver-Management.aspx

There is no "create and capture" task like the sysprep and capture. In fact you just use the standard client task sequence, but by having set DoCapture=YES, it'll sysprep and capture at the end of the task sequence.