new HYPERV VM from W2K8R2 ISO RRS feed

• Question

• I am trying to create a VM using the ISO that includes the R2 update (~2.8GB) but when i start the VM, the screen shows the black background and windows flag (like a windows 7 startup screen) but no installation sequence.  Then the VM stops and restarts and this loop sequence continues indefinitely.  This is my first attempt to create a VM on a newly installed HyperV box. Anyone seen this?
    • Changed type Vincent Hu Monday, September 27, 2010 7:27 AM
    Friday, September 24, 2010 4:29 PM

Answers

• I have seen cases where the hash matches but there is some very minor corruption with the ISO.

I usually recommend that folks download a second time and that usually works.

Also, some folks burn the ISOs to CD and when doing this they are not finalized properly and therefore have problems during the installation sequence.

Another thing to consider - this is R2 media you are installing the VM with, is the Hyper-V revision R2 as well?

Brian Ehlert (hopefully you have found this useful) http://ITProctology.blogspot.com
    • Marked as answer by BrianEhMVP Monday, September 27, 2010 2:00 PM
    Friday, September 24, 2010 6:24 PM
  • ok..i burned the ISO to disk and it is working. Thats very odd so id like to figure out why it works as physical but not as an image.  Anyone had this situation before? ANy special settings i might be missing?
    • Proposed as answer by Vincent Hu Monday, September 27, 2010 7:28 AM
    Friday, September 24, 2010 7:17 PM

All replies

• I think there is a problem with your CD, Have you tried to change it ?
    Friday, September 24, 2010 5:00 PM
  • I downloaded it directly from TECHNET. (en_windows_server_2008_r2_standard_enterprise_datacenter_web_x64_dvd_x15-50365.iso)

I used FCIV to compare the SHA1 (A548D6743129F2A02C907D2758773A1F6BB1BCD7) and it matches. Very odd...

Friday, September 24, 2010 5:55 PM