none
Loss of crawleradmin utility in a Ubermaster/Master configuration RRS feed

• Question

• I have a 4 server fault tolerant FSIS farm with 2 search rows and 2 index columns. I have an ubermaster and master set up. For reference, here's a crude server matrix:

Ubermaster
    Col 0 Master:
    C0R0

Col 1 Master:
    C1R0
    C0R1 C1R1

I noticed that as soon as i configured fault tolerance for the index columns, I could not longer run the crawleradmin utility. I receive a 10061 socket error. I understand that the Ubermaster and Master processes are running the crawl instead of the conventional Crawler process.

Anyone else getting this error with such a configuration? Should I use another utility instead?

Tuesday, February 8, 2011 7:01 PM

Answers

• I found my issue. It looks like you have to explicitly call the index server in a distributed set up. I left out the -C flag. Thanks for jamalcom for the assist!

Here are the commands for crawleradmin (notice the -C flag):

crawleradmin: option [option ..]

General Options

-C hostname[:port] Connect to hostname instead of local host (--crawlernode)
    -o <configdir>     Do offline mode (--offline assumes default configdir;
                       'd:\esp\data\crawler\config'). Only applicable with; -a,-d,-c,-q,
                       -G,-f,-d, --getdata and --verifyuri
    -l <loglevel>      32bit hexadecimal loglevel or one of:
                       debug, error, info, verbose, warning,

-h                 This information (--help)

• Marked as answer by ron_jones Wednesday, March 23, 2011 5:28 PM
    Wednesday, March 23, 2011 5:27 PM

All replies

• Hi Ron,

Regarding your node configuration, are all the nodes configured with fully qualified domain names (FQDN)?  Can you perform an nslookup from each node to itself and the other three nodes's FQDNs?   Can you perform a reverse nslookup to each IP address?

Example: