PowerShell To update Drivers of a computer RRS feed

• Question

• I am trying to build a powershell script with logic to identify a currently installed driver version.

if it is the same (as the one i am trying to install or newer) skip the install.

If it is lower than the version i am trying to install execute a setup.exe with silent argument.

$NetworkName = Get-WmiObject Win32_PnPSignedDriver| select devicename, driverversion | where {$_.devicename -eq 'Intel(R) Ethernet Connection (7) I219-LM'}

If ($_.Driverversion -ge '12.17.8.9') { 

Write-Output "Version is Current"

return 0

} Else {

start-process -filepath "\\servername\share\share\Dell\Drivers\Dell 3630\Network Card\setup.exe" -argumentlist '/s' -Wait -NoNewWindow

}

this works and installs the newest driver, but it doesn't skip computers that already have the newest version.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, i did a lot of googling but since i am still learning, i am pretty sure its just a rookie overlook.

Wednesday, March 6, 2019 7:02 PM

Answers

• It works because you ALWAYS install the driver because your if condition will never be true because $_ does not exist. You create a variable $NetworkName but you don't use it.

Try it htis way:

$NetworkName = Get-WmiObject Win32_PnPSignedDriver | 
        Where-Object {$_.devicename -eq 'Intel(R) Ethernet Connection (7) I219-LM'}| 
            Select-Object devicename, driverversion

If ([System.Version]$NetworkName.Driverversion -ge [System.Version]'12.17.8.9') { 
    } 
    Else {
        Start-Process -filepath "\\servername\share\share\Dell\Drivers\Dell 3630\Network Card\setup.exe" -ArgumentList '/s' -Wait -NoNewWindow
    }
    And the next rime please, format your code as code using the code posting tool provided on the edit ar of the post editor. Thanks.

Live long and prosper!

(79,108,97,102|%{[char]$_})-join''

• Edited by BOfH-666 Wednesday, March 6, 2019 7:22 PM
    • Marked as answer by tech_1000 Wednesday, March 6, 2019 7:44 PM